h1

tUnE-YaRdS

April 29, 2011

Have you ever been so overwhelmed by beauty/mastery that you actually contemplate ending your life?

Bay Area artist (via New England) Merrill Garbus’s (one woman band, tUnE-YaRdS) is so intimidatingly smart I feel guilty listening or at least unworthy – this is not music intended for us (human beings) – it’s simply too lateral thinking too concept-dense, full-up of mashed up binary details that I know I could never fully appreciate.  Most good artists “think outside the box” or “color outside the lines” but tUnE-YaRdS redraws the lines, I’m pretty sure she’s an alien.

I listen to her disc and I feel darkly confident akin to carrying a sign that read ‘I know I’m fucking up – leave me alone.’”

Make sense?  Give it a listen, you’ll know what I mean

No freebees this time, support our extra terrestrial artists

Leave a Reply

