h1

My Personal Discovery Channel

April 12, 2011

The ceilings in my bedroom are pretty high, 11 maybe 12 feet, so I really had no choice but to watch this inter-species drama play out from below.

In the far corner, near my closet, two large spiders and their impressive array of mummified corpses have been looming for a couple of weeks.  I’ve allowed the spiders to live because of the role I anticipate they’d play in the annihilation of the mosquito eaters (who roam my ceiling nightly  just beyond the reach of my whipping towel).

Mosquito eaters (or Mosquito Hawk) look like a mosquito and dragon fly combo, they are obscenely large, (think “Land of the Lost” or “Honey I Shrunk the Kids”) which scares the shit out of me (despite knowing that these monsters eat mosquitoes and do not bite humans).

Last Wednesday the mosquito eater population peaked at four.  I managed to maim and flush two of those bastards and one escaped (probably).  Which set the stage for last nights final solution.

I arrived home and turned the light on which woke the sleeping skeeter beast (apparently chilling on the bulb) and it flew straight up directly into the spiders web.  I began to capture the intense battle on video feeling rather smug about my plan coming to fruition.  After a couple of minutes I got bored …realizing that spiders don’t immediately kill their prey.

I read for a while and turned out the light  and tried to sleep but that goddamn mosquito eater was flapping and buzzing so loudly, it had been an hour and this insect was still fighting.  I got up to shoot some more video and it all became so clear…. this is the last bit of food left for the spiders, what will they do now, do I need them around now that there are no more mosquito eaters, and why am I continuing to personify this?

I doused the corner with Windex All-Purpose and resolved to spend less time alone.

Leave a Reply

