h1

A Good Traveler

May 18, 2010

“Hi, I am Dan, and I am a gadget-holic” “HI DAN”, the assembled geeks, sitting in a support circle, would mandatorily respond.

I scour technology websites for electronics I do not need, nevermind afford.  I covet their accessories, adapters, chargers and protective neoprene cases.   I am exactly the kind of guy who cannot use his $429 – 12.2 mega-pixel digital camera with 10x optical zoom without wishing it was the newer and so slighlty updated (but virually identical) model.

Blame California, but I recently came across some quotes, which admittedly are a bit out of character, yet have continued to resonate.

I am sharing these quotes with one condition ….promise me that if I keep posting these “Chicken Soup” clichés  or ever talk about seahorses (even jokingly) – you will  pepper me with well deserved hate mail and ignore my blog (and me) altogether.  Deal?

mnmlist:: less

“A good traveller has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.” – Lao Tzu

“We ascribe beauty to that which is simple; which has no superfluous parts; which exactly answers its end.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“When you are content to be simply yourself and don’t compare or compete, everybody will respect you.” – Lao Tzu

“Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” – Leonardo da Vinci

“Too many people spend money they haven’t earned, to buy things they don’t want, to impress people they don’t like.” – Will Rogers

“Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage – to move in the opposite direction.” – E.F. Schumacker

“Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.” – Confucius

“People love chopping wood. In this activity one immediately sees results.” – Albert Einstein


Leave a Reply

