h1

Mom thinks I am a loser

March 5, 2010

This is a conversation I had recently with my dear mother, whom I love very much.

Mom: “Your company is very lucky to have you”

Dan:  [Pausing, hoping she is not going to go where I fear she has already begun to travel]

Mom: “….because if you think about it, you must really be valuable to them in that you can just get up and go, you’re not leaving anything behind – you don’t have a family, a wife, a home, a pet, Dan, you don’t even have a girlfriend”.

Now this is my mother AND the last person I would want thinking that I am a loser so I was open to her insistence that her words were not meant to be interpreted in a negative way. But how can I rationalize this short email she just sent to me?

Leave a Reply

