h1

The Following is a True Story

May 3, 2009

Small Town Bank vs. Comcast

If you can find someone more opposed to big business (“THE MAN”) let me know.  I don’t always practice what I preach but I do try to  feel guilty every time I purchase the deeply discounted items at Wal-Mart.  On occasion I put my money behind my ethics, sadly the following is a tale of how it all went wrong.

I have a checking account with a small mom & pop type bank in my parents neck of the woods.   When I set up the account (and after receiving my free dust buster) I was informed of how modern the bank was despite their size.   They proudly touted their online banking options and robust security features.  The branch manager went on to elaborate about a recent situation the bank had with fraud and how they handled it.

Apparently someone made a couple of fraudulent charges totaling a few hundred dollars at an ATM machine in California, but I should rest easy knowing that this particular bank has ceased processing transactions with the state of California until the matter was resolved.  I am not kidding.

Apparently Jethro hopped right into the ole pickup and went straight out to Californ-I-A to see what all the fussin was about.

I had already accepted the free gift, what was I suppose to do?

It should have come as absolutely no surprise when just last I attempted to pay a Comcast bill (on the phone) with my debit card.  The card was initially rejected by Comcast, knowing I had adequate funds I called the bank, who proudly told me that the rejection was their security precautions hard at work for me, and I would need to remind Comcast to manually enter  my zip code into their system.

I called Comcast back  and what a surprise, their system does not allow manual editiing or adding or zip codes.  One final call to my bank confirmed my fear, as unbelievable as it may seem, this bank does not do business with Comcast (or the state of California).

I suppose if you refuse to do do transactions with the largest companies (and states) it would theoretically cut down on fraud.

Leave a Reply

